Sunday, August 9, 2009

Horror Writers Association Bram Stoker Award

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) annually presents the Bram Stoker Award for outstanding horror writing. The Bram Stoker Award is given for superior achievement rather than for best of year. The awards have been presented since the association’s incorporation in 1987. Since 2005, the awards have been presented in eight categories – novel, first novel, short fiction, long fiction, fiction collection, poetry collection, anthology, and nonfiction. In 2008, Stephen King won the award for Duma Key.

The Horror Writers Association also occasionally presents a Lifetime Achievement Stoker for individuals whose entire body of work has substantially influenced Horror. Stephen King and Richard Matheson are two authors reviewed on the Carpebiblio website that have received a Lifetime Achievement Stoker.

In addition to the Bram Stoker Award and Lifetime Achievement Award, the Horror Writers Association also occasionally presents awards to fields other than writing that support the horror genre. These include the HWA Specialty Press Award; the HWA Librarian of the Year Award; and the HWA’s Volunteer Service Award.

No comments: